Entry into the awards for 2021 have now closed, we look forward to announcing the winner at the NZACA/RVA Annual Summit Gala Dinner in Christchurch this August 24th, 2022. 

2021 NZACA/EBOS Healthcare Excellence in Care Awards


The New Zealand Aged Care Association (NZACA) is a powerful advocate representing New Zealand’s aged residential care sector.  The NZACA helps ensure that the sector gets the recognition and support it requires for our members to continue to provide excellence in care at all levels. 

Aged residential care providers in New Zealand deliver services to over 40,000 elderly New Zealanders and their families every year. Often, examples of excellence in this core health service are overlooked or go largely unrecognised outside the immediate community.

In 2007, the NZACA (formerly HealthCare Providers NZ) developed the awards for excellence in aged residential care. These prestigious awards recognised the continuous pursuit of excellence by aged residential care facilities and their staff.

Recognising Excellence in Aged Care 

This year the awards recognise excellence in two categories: the first being care facilities or a particular aspect of running a care facility, and the second being for individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the lives of the people they care for and those they work with.

The awards are open to all financial members of the NZACA. Judging will be carried out by an independent panel of judges, and the winners will be announced at the NZACA/EBOS awards ceremony to be held on Wednesday 24th, August 2022, Te Pae Convention Centre, Christchurch.

An essential part of the awards is recognition that the aged care industry has been operating under considerable challenges over the years, and yet continues to provide excellent care. These awards will recognise those care facilities and individuals that have made innovations to continuously improve services to residents and opportunities for staff. These changes may be on a very small or very large scale. Ultimately, the success of all applications will be judged on the improved outcomes for residents and their families.  


Award Categories

Overall Winner



EBOS Healthcare Overall Excellence in Aged Care Award

One winner from the below categories will be selected by the judging panel as the EBOS Healthcare Overall Winner. 


Care facility categories


Bidfood Excellence in Food Award for Care Homes and Hospitals

This award recognises exceptional efforts by members to enhance the excellence of the food service they deliver to residents.



Invacare Small Operator Industry Award

This award recognises the outstanding work of smaller operators in the NZ aged residential care industry in caring for, supporting and enriching the lives of residents, their families and staff. 



Kalandra Community Connections Award

This award recognises exceptional effort in catering for residents’ needs and preferences by creating an environment that promotes inclusion and choice for older New Zealanders.



Arjo Training and Staff Development Award

This award recognises exceptional training and staff development by organisations (either care facilities or groups) within the aged care industry. 



Jackson Van Interiors Built and Grown Environment Award

This award recognises exceptional design, construction or changes to a care facility to create a positive environment for residents and staff.


Individual categories


Leecare Solutions Stand-out Individual Award

This award recognises the stand-out individual in a care facility and is open to anyone who is a volunteer, employed or contracted in an aged residential care facility.



VCare Legendary Service to the Aged Residential Care Sector Award

This award recognises the outstanding contribution of someone who has been part of the aged residential care industry for more than ten years.


Information for Entrants

Entry into the awards for 2021 opens on Friday, 04 June with the information and entry form available for nominations. The Awards Ceremony to announce the winners will take place as part of our Conference Gala Dinner on Tuesday, 23 August 2022, Te Pae Convention Centre, Christchurch..

Entries for these awards must be received by Monday, 16 August 2021.  

We look forward to receiving your entries this year.

Please contact June Murugan, Events and Marketing Specialist, should you have any questions about these awards.

Awards Partner: