2020 NZACA/EBOS Healthcare
Excellence in Care Awards


Aged residential care providers in New Zealand deliver services to over 34,000 elderly New Zealanders and their families every year. Often, examples of excellence in this core health service are overlooked or go largely unrecognised outside the immediate community.

In 2007, the NZACA (formerly HealthCare Providers NZ) created awards for excellence in aged residential care. These prestigious awards recognised the continuous pursuit of excellence by aged residential care facilities and their staff. These awards recognise excellence in two categories: the first being that of a care facility or a particular aspect of running a care facility, and the second being individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the lives of the people they care for and those they work with.

The awards are open to all financial members of the NZACA. Judging is carried out by independent panels, and winners will be showcased at the NZACA National Conference in Wellington on 17 November 2020.

Excellence in Care Awards Key Dates

Entries Open: Tuesday, 21 July 2020

Entries Close: 5pm Wednesday, 30 September 2020 

Finalists Notified: week commencing 19 October 2020

Food Award Judging: week commencing  26 October 2020 

Finalists Present to Judges and Conference Delegation: Tuesday, 17 November 2020

Conference Gala Dinner and Excellence in Care Awards Ceremony: Tuesday, 17 November 2020

Award Categories

This year there are two groups of award categories. The first group of awards known as the ‘care facility categories’ is aimed at care facilities in general, or a particular aspect of operating a care facility. The second category is referred to as the ‘individual categories’ which is aimed at individuals in the industry who have made a valuable contribution to the lives of the people they care for. There is also an overall winner which will be selected by the judging panel from the seven category winners. 

Overall Winner

  EBOS Healthcare Overall Excellence in Aged Care Award


Care facility categories


Bidfood Excellence in Food Award for Care Homes and Hospitals

This award recognises exceptional efforts by members to enhance the excellence of the food service they deliver to residents.


  Invacare Small Operator Industry Award

This award recognises the outstanding work of smaller operators in the NZ aged residential care industry in caring for, supporting and enriching the lives of residents, their families and staff.



Kalandra Community Connections Award

This award recognises exceptional effort in catering for residents’ needs and preferences by creating an environment that promotes inclusion and choice for older New Zealanders.



Arjo Training and Staff Development Award

This award recognises exceptional training and staff development by organisations (either care facilities or groups) within the aged care industry.



Jackson Van Interiors Built and Grown Environment Award

This award recognises exceptional design, construction or changes to a care facility to create a positive environment for residents and staff.


Individual categories


Leecare Solutions Stand-out Individual Award

This award recognises the stand-out individual in a care facility and is open to anyone who is a volunteer, employed or contracted in an aged residential care facility.



VCare Legendary Service to the Aged Residential Care Sector Award

This award recognises the outstanding contribution of someone who has been part of the aged residential care industry for more than ten years.



Entry Information

Full entry information and commonly asked questions can be found here.  

Entry forms

There are separate entry forms for each of the categories. Please select the correct entry form below for the award you wish to enter.

Closing date

All entries into these awards must be received by NZACA National Office by 5 pm Thursday, 03 September 2020.



Please contact June Murugan, Events and marketing specialist, NZACA should you have any questions about these awards.