2020 NZACA/EBOS Healthcare
Excellence in Care Awards


Aged residential care providers in New Zealand deliver services to over 34,000 elderly New Zealanders and their families every year. Often, examples of excellence in this core health service are overlooked or go largely unrecognised outside the immediate community.

In 2007, the NZACA (formerly HealthCare Providers NZ) created awards for excellence in aged residential care. These prestigious awards recognised the continuous pursuit of excellence by aged residential care facilities and their staff. These awards recognise excellence in two categories: the first being that of a care facility or a particular aspect of running a care facility, and the second being individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the lives of the people they care for and those they work with.


2020 Award Winners


Overall Winner


EBOS Healthcare Overall Excellence in Aged Care Award

One winner from the below categories will be selected by the judging panel as the EBOS Healthcare Overall Winner. 

Winner: The CARE Village, Rotorua


Care facility categories


Bidfood Excellence in Food Award for Care Homes and Hospitals

This award recognises exceptional efforts by members to enhance the excellence of the food service they deliver to residents.

Winner: Terrace View Retirement, Ashburton



Invacare Small Operator Industry Award

This award recognises the outstanding work of smaller operators in the NZ aged residential care industry in caring for, supporting and enriching the lives of residents, their families and staff.

Winner: Southanjer Rest Home, Oamaru 



Kalandra Community Connections Award

This award recognises exceptional effort in catering for residents’ needs and preferences by creating an environment that promotes inclusion and choice for older New Zealanders.

Winner: Lady Allum Village, Auckland 



Arjo Training and Staff Development Award

This award recognises exceptional training and staff development by organisations (either care facilities or groups) within the aged care industry.

Winner: Summerset Group Holdings 



Jackson Van Interiors Built and Grown Environment Award

This award recognises exceptional design, construction or changes to a care facility to create a positive environment for residents and staff.

Winner: The CARE Village, Rotorua 


Individual categories


Leecare Solutions Stand-out Individual Award

This award recognises the stand-out individual in a care facility and is open to anyone who is a volunteer, employed or contracted in an aged residential care facility.

Winner: Jeffin Gopi from Beattie Home, Otorohanga 



VCare Legendary Service to the Aged Residential Care Sector Award

This award recognises the outstanding contribution of someone who has been part of the aged residential care industry for more than ten years.

Winner: Barbara Mador and Heather Rye from Kapiti Rest Home and Kena Kena Rest Home




Please contact June Murugan, Events and marketing specialist, NZACA should you have any questions about these awards.